Skee Ball.

One of my favourite memories I have as a teenager was going to an arcade in Allentown, PA with my high school love, Chris. It was on the main drag and a very popular hangout back in those days. They had all sorts of boardwalk/arcade type games, video games, the claw, and of course, skee ball.

I didn’t really have much interest in any of the other games except skee ball. I can still remember the sounds when we walked in, the laughter, the electronic chimes and bells from the machines, the squeals of delight from other patrons.

As Chris and I walked up to the machines, my heart leapt with excitement at the thought of all the tickets that would pour from the slot.  We approached the machines, I would pick a lane and he would pick the lane next to mine. He gave me a look of friendly competition, with a dash of an evil grin that no matter who won or lost, we were both winners.

We inserted our coins into the slots, the balls rattled down the shoot. We picked up those smooth, wooden orbs and I held mine for just a moment. I gently caressed it and felt for the smoothness, the slight divots, and became familiar with them. I could envision the globes becoming an extension of my arm, and as I released the first one it made a loud clunk as it hit the pad. It then rattled loudly as it made its jump from the ledge to find its appropriate home on the board. The lights on the board lit up my score and I could feel myself getting more excited with each roll.

At the end of my 9 ball roll, the tickets I am promised finally make their long-awaited appearance.

I look over at Chris and smile; he glances back with one of his own ever so sweetly with just a hint of flirtation. This is just the beginning of our evening of good clean fun. Who will win?

We would play for a while, each game scoring tickets for our big prize. Once we’ve had our fill, we decide that instead of using our winnings for a prize for each of us, we combine them for something special for my son instead.

Once we left the arcade with our prize in hand, we would hit up one our favourite eateries: the traditional diner down the street that looked like a silver train car with seating so tight you’d take special care not to bump into the other patrons, the $.59 hamburger stand for 20 of their famous cheeseburgers and deep fried pierogies, Martellucci’s for pizza, or Pott’s or Yocco’s for dogs.

SB

As an adult, I will always smile back on this memory. I’ve gone so far as to even download the game on my smartphone, but it pales in comparison to the memory I cherish with my high school beau.

Until next time, darlings.

~Mama

Leave a comment